picture 2

GMEC Organization

Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)

The GMEC meets monthly on the 3rd Thursday at 7:30 AM.   The committee has authority and responsibility for the oversight and administration of each of NJMS’ ACGME-accredited and non-accredited programs.


Michal Gajewski, MD

Program Director

Dentistry-Oral Maxillofacial Surgery

Vincent Ziccardi, D.D.S., M.D.

Program Director


Basil Hubbi, M.D.

Program Director


Neil Kothari, M.D.

Chair GMEC, Associate Dean GME

Emergency Medicine

Harsh Sule, M.D.

Program Director

Hackensack University Med Center

Stephen Percy, M.D.

Interim Chair of Pediatrics

Internal Medicine

Mirela Feurdean, M.D.

Program Director

Medicine Subspecialties

Alluru Reddi, M.D.

Program Director, Nephrology

Neurological Surgery

Chirag Gandhi, M.D.

Program Director


Machteld Hillen, M.D.

Program Director


Lisa Pompeo, MD

Program Director


Albert Khouri, M.D.

Program Director


Sanjeev Sabharwal, M.D.

Program Director


Seena Aisner, M.D.

Program Director


Christin Traba, M.D.

Vice-Chair GMEC, Program Director


Monifa Brooks, M.D.

Program Director


Keith Cook, D.P.M.

Program Director


Rashi Aggarwal, MD

Program Director

Resident Representative

Garrett Bell-Gresham, M.D.

President, Residents' Council

Resident Representative

Denise McCormack, M.D.

Vice-President, Residents' Council


Anastasia Kunac, MD

Program Director

Surgery Subspecialties

Robert Weiss, M.D.

Program Director, Urology

University Hospital

Susan Abookire, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer

VA-Veterans Administration

Dean Giacobbe, M.D.

Associate Chief of Staff - Education

Patient Safety Representative

Joan Dauhajre, L.C.S.W., M.S.

Chief Experience Officer

GMEC Subcommittees

In order to provide comprehensive oversight of the training programs, learning environment, and accreditation, GMEC has delegated this responsibility and has instituted subcommittees.  These subcommittees coordinate surveillance of select responsibilities, report status/issues on a monthly basis, and present recommendations when warranted.

CLER Steering Subcommittee
Harsh Sule, Chair
Neil Kothari
Maria Soto-Greene
Susan Abookire

CLER Quality and Patient Safety Workgroup
Harsh Sule, Chair
Neil Kothari
Joan Dauhajre
Pauline Thomas
Anastasia Kunac
Roxanne Poon
Eleanor Hughes
Avi Ruderman (Resident Representative)
Dan Bodek (Resident Representative)

CLER Clinical Workgroup
Neil Kothari, Chair
Harsh Sule
Kristin Wong
Aziz Merchant
Rebecca Goett
Michael Demyen
Albert Khouri
Njambi Mathenge (Resident Representative)

Housestaff Orientation Subcommittee
Basil Hubbi, Chair
Neil Kothari
Lorraine Fugazzi
Vivian Zaragoza
Maria Lopez

Policy and Procedures Subcommittee
Christin Traba, Chair
Lisa Pompeo
David Bleich
Edward Lee
Seena Aisner
Maria Obaid (Resident Representative)

Program Review & Quality Subcommittee
Neil Kothari, Chair
Dean Giacobbe
Vincent Ziccardi
Mirela Feurdean
Chirag Gandhi
Leslie Tyrie
Sanjeev Sabharwal
Amee Patrawalla
Joseph DeRose (Resident Representative)

Resident Wellness Subcommittee
Rashi Aggarwal, Chair
Jean Eloy, Vice Chair
Neil Kothari
Christine Gerula
Michael Shapiro
Mooyeon Oh-Park
Nicole Guanci
Sheila Morris
Joanelle Bailey (Resident Representative)
Nisha Polavarapu (Resident Representative)
Nyneju Nmah (Resident Representative)
Jill Deutsch (Resident Representative)

Strategic Planning Subcommittee
Neil Kothari, Chair
Maria Soto-Greene
Lorraine Fugazzi

Training and Development Subcommittee
Valerie Fitzhugh, Chair
Neil Kothari
Keith Cook
David Cennimo
Van Le

Work Hours Subcommittee
Machteld Hillen, Chair
Neil Kothari
Harsh Sule
Basil Hubbi
Evelyne Kalyoussef
Miguel Melo Bicchi (Resident Representative)