Faculty Development Programs at New Jersey Medical School

In Academic Year 2008-2009 six Faculty Development Sessions were presented for NJMS Faculty:

  • Dean Parmelee, Associate Dean, Boonshoft School of Medicine, Wright State University and N.S. Vasan, NJMS. October 23, 2008 – Team Based Learning 101: Theory Structure and Process.
  • Bruce W. Newton, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. March 23, 2009 – Becoming an Effective Course Director.
  • Jeanne B. Schlesinger, Director Instructional Development, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine. May 1, 2009 – Building Better Bridges: Helping Students Move from Confusion to Comprehension.
  • Cristian Stefan, Touro University College of Medicine. May 8, 2009 – Basic Sciences in the Continuum of Medical Education: A Contextual Learning and Curricular Perspective.
  • Anca Stefan, Touro University College of Medicine. May 13, 2009 – Technology and Pedagogy in Developing Innovative Approaches and Activities to Enhance Learning and Curricular Integration.

One additional session was conducted by the Stuart D. Cook Master Educators’ Guild: “Portfolios in Competency-Based Education: Keys to Success”, March 19, 2009 by Lindsey Henson, M.D.